REVIEW of “Amelia Elkins Elkins” by A. M. Blair

I am used to read several variations or sequels of Pride and Prejudice every month and I simply love them. However, I found last months a very interesting book on a website whose author was giving her retelling of Persuasion free. Who can resist a freebie and who can resist a free of a retelling of one novel Jane Austen?

Amelia Elkins Elkins is a retelling of Persuasion from a contemporary point of view. We are not any more looking at the 19th century but the 21st. From my point of view, A. M. Blair shows a great variation of the love story of Anne Elliot and Captain Wentworth but adding all the implications and “dramas” that we may face (well I am not in possession of a large fortune) in our lives.

Amelia is determined to save her family house after her mother’s death, complicated passing away. She finds out family “treasures” and the “black sheep”.

All the characters are very similar to the ones that Jane Austen wrote but in this novel with the 21st century turn. A like them or dislike them exactly the same. However, our Mr William Elliot, here he has a different name, is very creepy and a baddy (you need to read it to know his dark side).

You may think that I am missing one of the protagonist but no, I have not. You want to know how our Captain Wentworth is but I will only write that Michael is as loveable as Frederick.

“Please let me know”

You really need to grab a copy and read it, I only hope that you enjoy Amelia Elkins Elkins at least as much as I have enjoyed it. It is a really nice novel and you may enjoy also the description of all the clothes that Amelia is wearing ^^

In order to know more about A. M. Blair, go to her blog The Misfortune of Knowing or follow her on twitter A.M.B.

(Picture from https://misfortuneofknowing.wordpress.com/2015/06/22/amelia-elkins-elkins-a-retelling-of-jane-austens-persuasion/)

2 thoughts on “REVIEW of “Amelia Elkins Elkins” by A. M. Blair”

  1. I am so very glad that you enjoyed Amelia Elkins Elkins. I was certainly hoping that Amelia’s Michael would be as lovable as Anne’s Frederick. Thank you for reading my book and reviewing it on your blog!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment