Blog tour of “Pride and Prejudice” by Jane Austen, annotated by Sophie Turner + Giveaway

Hello! No, I am not about to be sent to Bedlam, we really have a blog tour of Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice. I am very honoured to start this blog tour that will take you to different parts of the project by Sophie Turner with guest posts, book reviews and excerpts that I hope you will enjoy!

Sophie Turner has been working with the most popular novel by Jane Austen and she is doing an astonishing and outstanding work bringing back all the splendour and glory that only the one written by Jane Austen more than 200 years ago had (not that newer editions are not good, but that one is just the best).

Here you have the description of this work:

The novel needs no introduction. But readers may not have realised that we have been losing “Pride and Prejudice” over the years, particularly digitally. Grammar, spelling, and punctuation have eroded significantly from the 1813 Egerton first edition, and many digital copies suffer from poor formatting.

In 2017, the 200th anniversary of Jane Austen’s death, her “darling Child” has been painstakingly restored to the three-volume 1813 first edition. Adjustments have only been made where there were errors in the 1813 text, and are noted in detailed annotations at the end of the novel.

Please enjoy this beloved story, restored to Jane Austen’s original voice.

I am extremely proud of presenting part of Sophie’s work, one part that is very important, even more nowadays were the “image” is too relevant for modern people. Please, read below and admire the effort and research that Sophie Turner has done about the cover, how covers have been changing through time on this beloved masterpiece:

Thank you so much for having me back here at My Vices and Weaknesses to talk about this special project of mine, to create a restored digital edition of Pride and Prejudice for readers, in celebration of Jane Austen’s life and work. I’m really excited to put this book back in the hands of readers, restored to Austen’s true voice.

One of the things that was tricky about doing the book was creating the cover, because while I could endeavour to restore the content to the 1813 Egerton first edition, I could not do that with the cover. In Jane Austen’s time, it was much easier to avoid judging a book by its cover, because covers were bound simply in paste board. This was because your Mr. Darcy types, who cannot comprehend the neglect of a family library, would be intending to have the book rebound much more expensively, in their preferred binding. This is why most of the first editions you see surviving today have such different bindings, and often the binding still went before the pages, so they were rebound more than once.

Here, as a rare example, is the National Library of Scotland’s first edition of Pride and Prejudice, in the original boards.

lib1

In the 1820s and 1830s, cloth began to supplement the plain board, and at about this time dust jackets began to be popular, although the first of them appeared in the 18th century. (Originally intended merely to protect the book until it reached the owner’s library shelf, it took about a century for them to be kept and considered part of the book.) This was the first time that books could be advertised by their covers, and, well, the book industry has not looked back.

So I thought I would compile here some of the most interesting Pride and Prejudice covers that I’ve come across:

1894 Hugh Thomson Peacock Edition

No cover list of Pride and Prejudice would be complete without this one, and for good reason. It’s beautifully eye catching, and yet luxurious at the same time. One of these will set you back about 800 USD on eBay!  

Resultado de imagen de 1894 Hugh Thomson Peacock Edition pride and prejudice

1895 Charles Brock

Another eye-catching contribution from the late 19th century. There’s only one of these available on eBay right now and THAT will set you back 1,975 USD.

Resultado de imagen de 1895 Charles Brock pride and prejudice

Circa 1940 movie tie-in

I really did not know that movie tie-in covers went back this far, but they most certainly do, as there are quite a few out there featuring Greer Garson and Laurence Olivier. This particular one will set you back 250 USD.

lib2

1940s Pocket Book Edition, aka Attack of the Fonts

“Hey,” said the junior designer to his friend in accounting. Wait, this was the 40s, so he probably didn’t say that. “Say, chap,” said the junior designer to his friend in accounting, “What fonts do you think I should use for this cover?” His friend glanced at the reasonable illustration, the bright pink color, and said, “Well, I always like to pick two or three fonts that have absolutely nothing to do with each other and look completely incongruous when put together. And, you know, if you could make Jane Austen look like she’s from the Wild West, that would be splendid.” If you are keeping a museum of font history, this could be added to the collection for a mere 50 USD.

Resultado de imagen de pride and prejudice 1940s Pocket Book Edition

Circa 1960s Dean & Son OR FROM THE FUTURE???

Okay, this is clearly, almost 100% certainly Lyme Park. What is the story here? Mere coincidence? A BBC location scout who had this edition growing up? Doctor Who? I NEED TO KNOW. This can be yours for 18 USD from eBay, if I haven’t bought it first.

Resultado de imagen de pride and prejudice Circa 1960s Dean & Son

1965 Harper Perennial

“I CANNOT LISTEN TO YOUR PROPOSALS BECAUSE I AM TOO BUSY ARRANGING THESE FLOWERS.” Yours for 65 USD.

Resultado de imagen de pride and prejudice 1965 Harper Perennial

2002 Penguin Classics

I had to include this one because it’s “my” Pride and Prejudice, the copy that’s gotten the most reads before I switched over to ebook. And I felt like we needed a nice, classic cover after some of the last few!

Imagen relacionada

2009 Harper Teen aka Twilight Wannabe

Giving them the benefit of the doubt, this one is, “How can we use the success of Twilight to get teens to read more classics? Not giving them the benefit of the doubt, it is, “How can we use the success of Twilight to sell more classics?”

lib3

2013 Pulp Classics

This one is pretty much a must-include. It’s rapidly become almost as iconic as the Peacock edition. I mean, what even is happening here? This vaguely Firthian Darcy with cravat and cigarette can be yours for about 24 USD on Amazon.

Resultado de imagen de pride and prejudice 2013 Pulp Classics

2015 Barnes and Noble Collectible

See, we can have nice things in the modern era! I like that it hearkens back a bit to the Peacock edition. And it will certainly set you back less than that one will: they can be had new on eBay for less than 10 USD.

Resultado de imagen de pride and prejudice 2015 Barnes and Noble Collectible

2017 Annotated and Restored ebook

Since we DO judge even ebooks by their covers, this restoration to 1813 did need a cover, and I produced a number of options, generally in a fairly classic design. This was the winner of the vote on Just Jane 1813, and I think readers made a great choice.

In 1813, the author of the novel was known only as the author of Sense and Sensibility, and this cover includes that in a sort of playful way, as if it’s helping to “sell” readers on this “new” novel. But Jane Austen also gets her name on the cover, in a big, bold way. I wanted her to have a cover with some swagger. She deserves it.

Pride _ Prejudice 1813 eBook Cover Turner small

 

Were you aware of all this info? or did you know all the different covers shown above? Maybe you have even seen different ones and if you read Pride and Prejudice in other languages you may have encountered various covers. However, what do you think of the cover? Maybe you were one of the people who voted for this cover, o a different one.

Why not buying this ambitious and lovely project? You can find it on Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Kobo. Sophie has tried to make it almost free, so I am sure that you will enjoy it and you will realise how interesting this “version” is as it shows a more “authentic” feeling.

Sophie Turner has already presented herself through the cover research but let me tell you a bit more about her:

Sophie Turner worked as an online editor before delving even more fully into the tech world. Writing, researching the Regency era, and occasionally dreaming about living in Britain are her escapes from her day job.

Sophie TurnerShe was afraid of long series until she ventured upon Patrick O’Brian’s 20-book Aubrey-Maturin masterpiece, something she might have repeated five times through.

Alas, her Constant Love series is only planned to be seven books right now, and consists of A Constant Love, A Change of Legacies, and the in-progress A Season Lost.

She blogs about her writing endeavours at sophie-turner-acl.blogspot.com, where readers can find direction for the various social drawing-rooms across the Internet where she may be called upon.

You can follow Sophie on Facebook   Twitter   Sophie Turner’s Blog   Goodreads   Pinterest   Amazon

Time to Give Away

Pride _ Prejudice 1813 eBook Horizontal BannerSophie Turner is kindly offering one ebook copy of “her” Pride and Prejudice to one of you. This time I am going to ask you to comment on these covers and/or what covers mean to you. One thing that I would love you to do is to show us which is your favourite cover of Pride and Prejudice and why. It can be one of the covers above or you may have a different edition. Just share it on the comments.

The giveaway will be open for a long time, all the entries before 15th of August will be counted (GMT time). (One entry per person in total, I apologise for that but I am moving countries  on Tuesday and I will have little time to check absolutely everything between unpacking and settling).

Tour Schedule

Pride _ Prejudice 1813 eBook Vertical BannerJuly 27 / My Vices and Weaknesses/ Guest Post & Giveaway

July 28 / Austenesque Reviews/Book Excerpt & Giveaway

July 29 / My Love for Jane Austen/ Guest Post & Giveaway

August 3 /Just Jane 1813 / Book Review & Giveaway

August 4 / My Jane Austen Book Club/ Guest Post & Giveaway

September 4 / Diary of an Eccentric/ Guest Post & Giveaway

September 5 / Laughing with Lizzie / Book Excerpt

September 6 / Savvy Verse & Wit / Book Review & Giveaway

September 12 / Margie’s Must Reads /Book Review & Giveaway

September 14 / More Agreeably Engaged /Guest Post & Giveaway

September 15 / Babblings of a Bookworm/ Book Excerpt & Giveaway

20 thoughts on “Blog tour of “Pride and Prejudice” by Jane Austen, annotated by Sophie Turner + Giveaway”

  1. What an amazing variety of covers! I’d love to own a Peacock edition above all others, but unless I start buying lottery tickets and then in the unlikely event of a win, I’ll have to make do with the facsimile that I have as a case for my Kindle. Not sure what hubby woukd say about spending that sort of money on a book as he doesn’t really understand why anyone would want more than one copy of any book anyway!

    Earlier this year I was lucky enough to win a giveaway from Pamela Lynne and Cat Gardiner over at Vanity and Pride Press and one of the items in the package was a copy of your aptly named Attack of the Fonts edition! It’s currently the oldest copy of P&P that I own, though I do own older copies of some of the other novels.

    Many thanks for all of the hard work you must have put in on this project, Sophie. I love the cover for your new edition, even though I seem to remember that I voted for the one with the two ladies on it. In the end, the readers at Just Jane 1813 made the right choice! Must say I’m looking forward to reading this new edition. I’ll have to try comparing it with some of the other versions I own as I go – yes, even with the Attack of the Fonts! My copy of that is going to be forever known as that from now on, you do realise that?

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I am with you Anji and the Peacock edition, my husband will not be happy if I but one! (after winning the lottery of course!)
      I have several copies and I really like the one with Colin Firth and Jennifer Ehle on it 🙂 even if it is not a masterpiece and it is just a picture.

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Thank you so much, Anji! I love that you have a copy of attack of the fonts, hahaha! And if you follow the blog tour, you’ll have a chance to see some comparisons…it’s really amazing to see how much it had eroded and what a difference (in my opinion) it makes.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Ana and Sophie,

    Of all the covers,the one my Hugh Thompson is the one I’d choose to buy,money bring no object!

    However,the cover of the old and much loved copy that I read,while in school,will always hold a special place in my heart. It’s a student copy,by Gill & McMillan, showing two actors on the cover,and while outdated,it’s the one I return to again and again,when I re-visit P&P!

    Full of lines of underlined text,with notes explaining irony,sarcasm,pathetic fallacy etc. I wouldn’t trade it for the world!!

    Restoring this wonderful book and being faithful to Jane’s narrative is a wonderful and admirable endeavour!
    Thank you,Sophie,for such a treasure! 😉

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Give Sophie a PhD! What a labor of love! I thank you for every bit of care that you put into your research. This is something that never occurred to me. That said, I believe the Hugh Thomson cover shows the most respect to Jane Austen and to Pride and Prejudice together. The most offensive one shows the hoodlum Darcy. It gives me a migraine!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Haha, Katherine, there were definitely points where I felt like an academic or more like a wannabe academic. Like when I was totally astonished that Goucher would just let me sit down with the first edition for research purposes! That Hugh Thomson one is just lovely, isn’t it?

      Liked by 1 person

  4. My favorite is the 2002 Penguin as this is the one I think of when I picture the book. It is the one I own and I have always liked how it shows the love between Jane and Elizabeth on the cover.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. darcybennett, yes I think Penguin has done well with their covers for classics, generally. Although the most recent one has a woman with more Victorian hair, so that one bugged me a little. But since you and I own the 2002 version we can just ignore it, haha!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Dare I get lynched, but I love the smoking Darcy cover! It’s so absurd but so spot on… they’d have to lock me up if Mr Darcy came to my town for sure, LOL!

    I love the cover Just Jane 1813 readers selected because Pride & Prejudice really is Elizabeth Bennet’s story and this cover states this in a classy, yet bold way.

    Thanks Ana for launching this blog tour and Sophie for her amazing work on this eBook. I know she worked really hard to bring this edition to Austen’s readers. I am so glad to have you share this with your lovely readers!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The smoking Darcy is indeed absurd but I also like it although it’s not my favourite one.
      It has been a pleasure to show part of the awesome job that Sophie has done!

      Like

    2. Hahaha, I agree, the absurdity of it is quite fun. I’m not sure that I’d want to own a copy, but I enjoy that it exists. And I agree that Just Jane 1813 readers made a great choice for the cover.

      And yes, many many thanks to Ana for hosting me here and kicking off the tour. I’m so excited to be bringing the restored story back to readers!

      Liked by 2 people

  6. Fantastic post! I always enjoy seeing how many different covers they can come up with for a single book. Have you read Margaret Sullivan’s Jane Austen Cover to Cover? Such a fun book!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I love the different covers. I have
    about a dozen different ones including Hugh Thompson, a Brock, and an unusual cover from a US publisher in the late 1800’s. Thank you Sophie for doing this and for the give away.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

