Blog Tour of “The Darcy Monologues”, guest post, mini-review and giveaway

15, a lucky number for some people, “la niña bonita” (the pretty girl) when it comes to bingo in Spanish,  fifteen are the stories in The Darcy Monologues edited by Christina Boyd and written by fifteen authors, come of them with a lot of JAFF written, a few other with a bit less written so far but with a great future ahead of them.

Here you have all the names: Susan Adriani, Sara Angelini, Karen M. Cox, J. Marie Croft, Jan Hahn, Jenetta James, Lory LilianKaraLynne Mackrory, Beau North, Ruth Phillips Oakland, Natalie Richards, Sophia Rose, Melanie StanfordJoana Starnes, and Caitlin Williams.

I am pleased to introduce one of these authors who has one of the regency stories on the monologues, KaraLynne Mackrory. She has written Clandestiny and in this particular case, I will leave you with Natalie Richards to tell you about it and about KaraLynne.

Falling for KaraLynne Mackrory by Natalie Richards

I am excited to read all of the stories by my fabulous fellow authors of The Darcy Monologues, but I confess to having a particular soft spot for KaraLynne Mackrory. I’ve been reading her books for years now, and had the pleasure of hosting her on my blog twice before we both contributed stories to the Sun-Kissed: Effusions of Summer anthology.

I always approach a KaraLynne Mackrory story with a greedy sort of glee, like a dragon with a shiny new treasure to hoard. Her stories have been making me happy ever since I read Bluebells in the Mourning. They always have the perfect blend of ingredients; a pinch of angst, a dash of humor, and enough romance to make the stoutest heart swoon. I know when I pick one up that there will be hours of enjoyment to be found betwixt their covers.

Clandestiny is the title of her contribution to the anthology. It caught my eye immediately. It is just a deliciously mysterious word, is it not? Add that to the anticipation of pleasure her previous books gave rise to, and the story becomes irresistible. KaraLynne likes her twists and turns, occasionally even a touch of magic, so I do not know what to expect, I only know it will be good.

My “Clandestiny”

I am not going to do a normal review, I will leave you with my questions, the ones I leave to tease you or to intrigue you. I have to say that KaraLynne´s story is lovely and a bit funny with the turning and turning and turning again 😉

What if Netherfield has secrets? What if Darcy is not so proud? What if Elizabeth understands better how society works? What if a slipper is a key in a story? (and not exactly like Cinderella’s) What if “but you do not even like me, sir” is my new catchy phrase? Yes, I think I will repeat that sentences in my mind for a few days and it will remind me of this story.

KaraLynne tells us about herself

karalynneHow did you come to be inspired by Miss Austen as both a woman and then, as a writer?

Pride and Prejudice was the first of her works that I read and I found it incredibly funny.  I started to think about what kind of woman could produce such witty and dry humor as would be necessary for this prose.  The more I learned about the time in which Jane Austen lived the more I came to respect her further because my girl Jane didn’t live an easy life and yet she found humor in things.  I like to think that I do that too and that we could have been good friends.  Her writing proves her outlook on life had to be through humorous glasses.  I have mad respect for that.

Can you offer readers a brief description of your story and tell us why you chose to set your story in the Regency era?

I chose to set my story in the regency era mostly because I am very comfortable in that setting, and I love the romance of the time.  My short story evolved from the desire to see what fun could be had with a secret door, a surprise encounter and a little bit of forced seclusion for our two sweethearts.  I’ve always thought that if Darcy and Elizabeth could just spend time together alone they would come to see their futures are destined together.  So my story gives them that chance.

This year we’re coming up on the 200th anniversary of the publications of  Persuasion, and Northanger Abbey. What were you trying to capture in your story,  Clandestiny, of Jane Austen in The Darcy Monologues?

I always hope to emulate her writing style and to keep her characters true to the ones she created originally but I also hoped that Clandestiny would be a glimpse into the conflicted and passionate heart of Mr. Fitzwilliam Darcy.  He’s a man that epitomises the “still waters run deep” saying and I give the readers a look into what runs deep for Darcy.

The reactions to this upcoming release have been overwhelmingly positive from readers and I think that’s also in response to Mr. Darcy’s tremendous popularity throughout the past two centuries. Why do you believe that modern-day woman still find him so appealing?

Because he’s mysterious, noble, good and kind – let’s not forget handsome, rich and sexy.  What’s not to love?  He’s terribly flawed and yet at his heart he is a good man who cares deeply.  Everyone wants to be cherished and we know a man like Darcy would execute the job admirably while also being a challenge for us and keeping the appeal alive. I’ve heard complaints from men that they can’t measure up to the perfection of Darcy – and yet that’s where they are wrong.  Because Darcy isn’t perfect – far from it.  But where it counts he has what we want.  We want to feel empowered, while also protected.  We want to feel capable while also cared for.  Darcy can be a class A jerk and yet he can be tender too.  But I think what makes him most appealing is his willingness to try to be better.  He sees a fault in himself and instead of making an excuse about it – “that’s just how I am” – he endeavours to be better.  And that is sexy.

Did writing this story make you appreciate something about Jane Austen all over again?

As I wrote above, Jane is a witty girl and with my story I paid homage to that by creating a romantic scene with a touch of the funny.

Can you give us a six-word memoir about yourself?

Mother, wife, writing of love life.

What can readers look forward to reading from you in the future and how can readers stay in touch with you?

I have a storyline in the works, but sadly it is not far enough to have any kind of timeline for publication.  I connect frequently with readers through book groups, fairs, and online.  I love this part of being an author the best!  So, please contact me, I’d love to hear what you think of my stories.  

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/KaraLynneMackroryAuthor/

Twitter: @KAMackYah

Email: klmackrory@merytonpress.com

Mini-review

To be honest, more than a mini-review, I will give you a couple of words, or a sentence, a quote of each story, from them you just need to use your imagination 😉

This is a great read, Darcy’s words, Darcy’s thoughts in so many stories and also in different eras. He shows us his love for Elizabeth, his struggle sometimes but *spoiler alert* his happy ending and how he cherish it.

REGENCY

Death of a Bachelor by Caitlin Williams: Darcy has to put the best announcement on the paper ever!

From the Ashes by J. Marie Croft: tongue and letter, tongue and letter and repeat.

If Only a Dream by Joana Starnes: 17 hours and a half. She is not ghost or a vision.

The Beast of Pemberley by Melanie Stanford: The Beauty and the Beast at Pemberley.

A resentful man by Lory Lilian: his unsteady knees.

In Terms of Perfect Composure by Susan Adriani: “you lied to me (…) you must marry her!”

Without Affection by Jan Hahn: “I failed to see the fascination” (that’s what you think!)

OTHER ERAS

Hot for teacher by Sara Angelini: Elizabeth, you led him on!! You, naughty girl 😛

You don’t know me by Beau North: “shut up and…” x2

Reason to Hope by Jenetta James: “Elizabeth, there isn’t anything between me and Caroline Bingley, you know.”

I, Darcy by Karen M Cox: a farm, a restaurant “Seasons”.

Pemberley by Stage by Natalie Richards: maybe he does not abhor disguise so much.

The Ride Home by Ruth Phillips Oakland: what a Porsche Sherlock has 😛

Darcy Strikes Out by Sophia Rose: he won the game.

5out5 stars

Time to Give Away

Two lovely prizes for two winners are waiting thank you to The Darcy Monologues.

One winner will win our grand prize of 24 paperback books, each one autographed by the author, and mailed to the winner’s home.

The second winner will win their choice of either a Pride and Prejudice pocketbook or a Pride and Prejudice Kindle Fire Case with stand – Pride and Prejudice Book Cover Case for Amazon Kindle Fire 7″ and 6″ – Kindle Fire / Fire HD / Fire HDX tablet.

Click here to participate in this awesome and international giveaway.

Blog tour

Here you have all the blog that have participated on this blog tour, you will find a lot of interesting reviews and also information about all the authors.

April 3 / My Jane Austen Book Club / Launch Post & Giveaway

April 10 / Babblings of a Bookworm / Book Review & Giveaway

April 17 / The Reading Frenzy / Guest Post & GiveawayTheDarcyMonologuesCoverEbook small

April 20 / My Love for Jane Austen / Guest Post & Giveaway

April 24 / Margie’s Must Reads / Book Review & Giveaway

May 1 / From Pemberley to Milton / Book Review & Giveaway

May 8 / Just Jane 1813 / Book Excerpt & Giveaway

May 15 / Austenesque Reviews / Book Review & Giveaway

May 22 / Austenesque Reviews / Guest Post & Giveaway

May 25 / Of Pens and Pages / Book Review & Giveaway

May 29 / More Agreeably Engaged / Book Review & Giveaway

June 5 / So Little Time / Book Excerpt & Giveaway

June 12 / Diary of an Eccentric/ Book Review & Giveaway

June 19 / Book Lover in Florida / Book Excerpt & Giveaway

June 26 / My Vices and Weaknesses / Book Review & Giveaway

July 3 / Savvy Verse & Wit / Book Review & Giveaway

 

 

 

16 thoughts on “Blog Tour of “The Darcy Monologues”, guest post, mini-review and giveaway”

  1. Lovely post Ana, especially your micro reviews of each story. Thanks also to Natalie for her fangirl piece about KaraLynne and to KaraLynne for letting us get to know her a little better. Haunting Mr. Darcy is my absolute favourite of her books, though all of them are wonderful in their own ways.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wonderful! It’s always so fascinating to see the other author’s impressions of one another. Thanks for the lovely review, and for being a part of the tour!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks for letting The Darcy Monologues make a stop at My Vices and Weaknesses! Lovely Karalynne interview, fangirl post by Natalie, and review 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you for hosting this Monday tour stop! And for all your support throughout the book project.

    I adore what Natalie said about KaraLynne! My DreamTeam authors make me so happy that they also are fans of one another too!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Thank you Natalie for the very charming words about my writing and thank you my vices and weaknesses for the wonderful review! This was such a fun group of authors to participate with.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. What a lovely review. I absolutely love this book. All such great stories by such great authors. I have already read it twice and will be reading it many more times. I loved Clandestiny (well ok I loved all the stories so much that I can’t pick a favourite!)
    I’m glad to hear that KaraLynne is writing another book. I have all her others which have been read several times so I look forward to the next one.
    Thank you Ana, Natalie and KaraLynne for this wonderful post.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Oh my stars, Ana! I live in awe of your mini-review ability. I want it. 🙂 But seriously, it is great. Thanks for hosting and reading our book.

    That was a snazzy fangirl gush, Natalie. I love her Haunting Mr. Darcy. Always fun to learn more about KaraLynne. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

