REVIEW of “Presumption” by Julia Barrett

While on holidays back in Spain, after reading a Pride and Prejudice variation that I will review shortly, I went to the library and borrow a P&P sequel that I never heard of: Presumption by Julia Barrett. I have read it in Spanish and it was strange as I am used to read in English, however, I was looking forward to read this sequel whose main character is Georgiana Darcy.

Generally speaking I have liked this book but I need to say that it was a bit empty of feelings, I mean, Georgiana was trying to be very adult-like and sensible after her first season and she tried to be cool and she was determined not to fall for the first man that came across, however, eventually she does it. There is not true feeling at that point. Although after a while I liked the character as she is stronger and extremely loyal to her brother, as we know from P&P but also to her sister-in-law, Elizabeth Darcy.

As it is a sequel, we can see the “pride and prejudice” through other eyes, for instance a new character, Georgiana and Fitzwilliam’s godfather among other neighbours. I do not have to mention Lady Catherine, that again, is mean and a snob in the extreme. Happy point for her: she loses another chance for her Anne (this time it is a good thing!)

I do not want to spoil anything but I will point out that there are good parts to enjoy, for instance Mrs. Gardiner is even better than in the Jane Austen’s novel, mainly because she is a character whose role is a very important moment for Georgiana’s character.

I would have enjoyed a bit more of warmth or romantic feelings between Darcy and Elizabeth or with Georgiana when appropriate 😉

 

3.5out5 stars

If you want to buy this book or any other novel by Julia Barrett, go to Amazon UK or Amazon US.

(cover picture from amazon.es)

Leave a Reply

