REVIEW of “Revisit Mansfield Park: How Fanny married Henry” by Sarah Ozcandarli

When I read the title, I could not conceive the idea of Fanny marrying Henry. It went against my idea of Fanny, my dislike of Henry and my love for a happy ending.

Mansfield Park is one of my favourite Jane Austen’s novels and I find Fanny too sweet to end up with someone different from Edmund. However, I wanted to read Revisit Mansfield Park: How Fanny married Henry because it was a challenged not to be biased by my ideas.

It is true that I spent more than half of the book waiting for the author to show that everything was a lie, that Henry is still despicable and untruthful as Jane Austen showed us. I was being a bit mean with Sarah Ozcandarli‘s book because although I was enjoying the letters that Henry and Fanny wrote to each other in order to have a better acquaintance, I kept thinking that it was not possible that Henry was actually in love with Fanny.

However, he was and he wanted to show her how he could changed just to deserve her love. It is a lovely way the book is written because as I wrote before, the love story is mainly seen through the letters they send to each other. There is a great change between the first letters where they write in a very sensible and polite manner and the last ones, where feelings and emotions are so clear and evident.

There are more stories around the courtship that Henry and Fanny have, the Bertram’s do not have really happy news or events but those events are very important to complete the story. We can find Maria and Julia, Tom and Edmund together with their parents. I like Susan, Fanny’s sister, as an important character in this story, we also have Fanny’s parents on Revisit Mansfield Park.

I was lucky to get the story for free on Amazon, but I recommend it, mainly if you dislike the Henry Crawford from Mansfield Park as I do.

4out5 stars

Leave a Reply

